About the CASIRAS Board of Directors


Center for Advanced Study in Religion and Science

Founded in 1965 by Ralph Wendell Burhoe, winner of the 1980 Templeton Prize, CASIRAS is an independent organization of scientists and theologians incorporated under IRS section 501 (c) (3), section 509 (a) (3). CASIRAS supports the Zygon Center for Religion and Science (in partnership with the Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago) and co-publishes Zygon: Journal of Religion and Science (in partnership with the Institute on Religion in an Age of Science).

Board of Directors

Dr. Gayle E. Woloschak
Professor of Radiation Oncology, Radiology, and Cell and Molecular Biology
Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center
Feinberg School of Medicine
Northwestern University

Vice President:
Dr. Grace Wolf-Chase
Astronomer, Adler Planetarium
Associate, Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics, The University of Chicago

Ms. Carol Rausch Albright
Visiting Professor of Religion and Science
Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago

Dr. Mladen Turk
Niebuhr Distinguished Chair, Associate Professor of Religious Studies
Elmhurst College


Ms. Susan Barreto
Editor-at-large for HFM Global

Rev. Dr. Gregory Nelson Davis
Member of Board of Directors from 2006 to 2015, Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago
Johnston, Iowa

Dr. Willem Drees
Editor of Zygon: Journal of Religion and Science
Dean of Tilburg School of Humanities, Tilburg University, The Netherlands

Dr. Kristi J. Ferguson
Professor of Internal Medicine
The University of Iowa

Dr. Paul Heltne
President Emeritus
Chicago Academy of Sciences

Dr. Solomon H. Katz
Krogman Center for Childhood Growth and Development
University of Pennsylvania

Dr. James F. Moore
Professor of Theology
Valparaiso University

Dr. Karl E. Peters
Professor Emeritus of Philosophy and Religion
Rollins College

Rev. Dr. Barbara Rossing
Professor of New Testament
Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago

Dr. Lea F. Schweitz
Associate Professor of Systematic Theology / Religion and Science; Director of Zygon Center for Religion and Science
Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago


Emeriti Members of the CASIRAS Board of Directors:

Rev. Dr. Philip Hefner
Professor Emeritus of Systematic Theology
Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago

Dr. William Irons
Professor of Anthropology
Northwestern University

Rev. William Lesher
Past Chair of the Board of Directors
Council for a Parliament of the World’s Religions

Ms. Kimberlee Eighmy
Chaplain and Associate in Ministry
Lutheran Association of Christian Educators