CASIRAS Board of Directors


Center for Advanced Study in Religion and Science

CASIRAS supports the Zygon Center for Religion and Science (in partnership with the Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago) and Zygon: Journal of Religion and Science (in partnership with the Institute on Religion in an Age of Science and the International Society for Science and Religion).

Founded in 1965 by Ralph Wendell Burhoe, winner of the 1980 Templeton Prize, CASIRAS is an independent organization of scientists and theologians incorporated under IRS section 501 (c) (3), section 509 (a) (3).

Board of Directors

Dr. Gayle E. Woloschak
Associate Dean for Graduate Student and Postdoctoral Affairs
Professor of Radiation Oncology and Radiology
Feinberg School of Medicine
Northwestern University

Vice President:
Dr. Grace Wolf-Chase
Senior Scientist; Senior Education and Communication Specialist
Planetary Science Institute

Ms. Susan Barreto
Editor of Covalence, the online magazine for the Lutheran Alliance for Faith, Science and Technology

Dr. Mladen Turk
Professor and Chair, Department of Religious Studies
Elmhurst University


Ms. Carol Rausch Albright
Visiting Professor of Religion and Science
Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago

The Rev. Dr. Gordon A. Braatz

Dr. Willem B. Drees
Professor of Philosophy of the Humanities
Tilburg School of Humanities and Digital SciencesTilburg University, The Netherlands

Dr. Paul Heltne
President Emeritus
Chicago Academy of Sciences

Dr. Solomon H. Katz
Krogman Center for Childhood Growth and Development
University of Pennsylvania

Dr. Esther Menn
Dean of Academic Affairs; The Ralph W. and Marilyn R. Klein Professor of Old Testament/Hebrew Bible
Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago

Dr. James F. Moore
Professor of Theology
Valparaiso University

Dr. Karl E. Peters
Professor Emeritus of Philosophy and Religion
Rollins College

Dr. Arthur Petersen 
Editor of Zygon: Journal of Religion and Science
Professor of Science, Technology and Public Policy
University College London

Rev. Dr. Barbara Rossing
Professor of New Testament
Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago